Healthy living, healthy parenting, healthy gardening. One Family's approach to off grid living.

Maybe today I will plant Dahlia

Before the sun makes it over the trees I am a major grump.  To put it politely.

I hate the cold, I feel like I have been cold every single second since I got here.  I hate getting up with the baby in the frigid night.

I hate crawling out of bed and seeing my breath, putting on my jacket, changing #3’s diaper and putting his fleece suit on over his jammers, wool slippers on his feet.

It makes my head pound with angry heat, and I stub my toes and bump my elbows and curse myself for coming home this early.  Why didn’t I wait another 10 days?  10 more days and the mornings wouldn’t be like this.

Sun pouring honey over new leaf buds

It’s morning on the mountain and the chickadees dee dee dee

Sonny boy laugh away some morning dew

Already planning today’s river and civilization destruction

rapid creek water flowing from the gravity fed

turns my yard into valleys and waterways of epic ages

ground steams in the warmth of the day

just begun


2 responses

  1. b

    ahhhh….if i was there, i would snuggle you warm.

    May 1, 2011 at 11:34 am

  2. it’ll make you strong like bull!
    but I do feel yer pain!
    never did life without power/water with a babe (nevermind 3!!)…
    i bet its uncomfortable at times
    I’ll trade you houses?

    May 9, 2011 at 10:15 pm

Tell me what you are thinking

