Healthy living, healthy parenting, healthy gardening. One Family's approach to off grid living.

Garden clean up time

It looks like I’m going to be bringing all my green tomatoes with me to process into green tomato ketchup (by the boys request).  I’m a tad disappointed that only a few ripened, but glad they are still useable.  I was planning on putting in 10lbs of garlic this fall, but good intentions….I put in .5 lbs of Red Russian garlic, but I did prep two new big raised beds that will be all ready for spring planting which I am pretty stoked about.  I”ve been building some stone retaining walls all around the kitchen garden and they really define the space in such a satisfying way.  All and all it was a pretty successful gardening season for me. I had enough veggies to share and we didn’t have to buy much in the way of greens for most of the summer.  We have one piddly pumpkin and a cantaloupe the size of a golf ball.  I was amazed by the perfect waxy purple eggplants that we grew.  Looking forward to spending some time pouring through seed catalogs this winter and getting connected with local gardeners next spring.

I’ve just joined http://inthekoots.com/ in the gardening group, hope to see some of you there!

 

Tell me what you are thinking

