Healthy living, healthy parenting, healthy gardening. One Family's approach to off grid living.

My changing views of children’s television, bring on the mind numbing trite.

With Coach Rapper I was truly horrified by the content of programming for young children. Granted, he spoke like a tiny professor from his first birthday on, but really I would have been horrified even if he had been mute until age 3 like the Evil Wizard. With the Evil Wizard when I let him over indulge in television at a young age it was because I was sick, pregnant and single parenting. At first I opted for select educational videos. But lets face it, Dora just is way more zombifying and mind numbing. Even if you knew me then perhaps you did not know I succumbed to Dora. It’s just one of those dark and shameful secrets of pregnancy.
With #3 I have no excuse.
Well, I do, kinda. I am lazy, and I am okay with it. It’s 7:04am and I have been up for 2 hours and haven’t had to do any parenting at all, except slice fruit. I am sitting in a bed with sheets I don’t have to wash, going to have a bath with water I don’t have haul and boil. Although I cringe as I hear the mind numbing trite on Harry & Bucket o’ Dino’s, I relax again, knowing even the smallest viewers are staring and drooling. Having their tiny minds filled with generic moralizing and a calm, demeaning vocabulary. “In the Yukon the little boys used to watch Transformers.” I say to The King while stealing a sip of his coffee. “Imagine how much more violent ours would be if we let them watch that. It’s totally got to be rated R or something like that”. The King wiggles his eyebrows pleasantly in his most conversational morning response.

3 more nights in the lap of luxury and then back to the honest life. I must say I am looking forward to it. As much as I have enjoyed February in the hotel I am thoroughly itching to get back to Erie Kingdom and get my hands back in the dirt. Or snow. We still have heaps and heaps of snow.

4 responses

  1. Alissa

    I had to giggle at “tiny professor”…I’m missing your family so much right now. You’ve painted a perfect picture of your morning it brings me right into the hotel room and sits me on the bed. I want to cuddle your boys and watch cartoons.

    February 25, 2012 at 9:16 am

    • Cece

      Thanks 🙂 It really means a lot to know that my writing is inviting! We miss you too!

      February 25, 2012 at 9:58 am

  2. We just got back from Florida. It’s great to hear an update. Look forward to actually talking. I will be sending a small parcel for the boys,

    love S.

    February 25, 2012 at 4:22 pm

  3. Attie’s all about “de de doraaaa”… somehow it has crept waay farther into our daily routine than I ever imagined!! I guess we share some “dark and shameful secrets of pregnancy”.
    :0)

    whateve’s. Can’t take them fully out of their culture, I guess? Ya, that works! Think of how fun it is to talk about the smurfs and rainbow brite with fellow 1980’s kids!
    Peace buddy, love ya

    March 26, 2012 at 9:20 pm

Tell me what you are thinking

